My Favorite Things: APRIL 2016

In the April 2016 edition of My Favorite Things, I’m talking about makeup (which is uncharacteristic of me), a must-read negotiation book, and Art in the Park 2016.  My Favorite Things is a monthly linkup by Raisa and Eirene. Join us!

 

Makeup+Skincare

April 2016 can only be aptly titled “In the Mood for Makeup, and Other Misfortunes” with an emphasis on the comma there because no one in her right mind will ever be pleased to witness an awful trainwreck go down on her country. On a bright side, my skin had been extraordinarily fantastic even under this sweltering Third World heat until I started showing symptoms of PMS.

The title’s apt coz I’ve never bought this many makeup+skincare items before, and I’ve never received this many bad news in a span of 30 days. I highly suspect that the reason why I binged on makeup this past month — which is uncharacteristic of me btw coz I don’t really care much about makeup — is because I was too stressed out with life and deadlines and adulthood and Pilipinas. But with great skin and makeup (and not to mention a slimming waistline), the world can fall at my feet but at least I’m pretty.

Human Nature Coffee Body Scrub review philippines, Nature Republic Provence Calendula Mild Sun Block SPF35 review philippines, Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balm Fierce review philippines, Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick Toast of New York review philippines, The Body Shop Black Musk Eau De Toilette review philippines, The Face Shop Brow Master Eyebrow Pencil 02 Dark Brown review philippines

What I got:

1. Human❤Nature Coffee Body Scrub
I love, love, LOVE this product! It has a 80% vanilla-creamy, 20% espresso smell that’s so relaxing, I’m in a dreamy state after everytime I use this. The scrub beads (legit coffee grounds) are bigger and sparse compared to the St. Ives apricot formula. However, compared to ‘clean and dry’ that I get from St. Ives, Human❤Nature Coffee Body Scrub leaves my skin soft and smooth. Rated: BEST BUY.

2. Nature Republic Provence Calendula Mild Sun Block (SPF35 PA++)
Wrong choice. Greasy. I mix this with my matte foundation so I don’t have to throw it away. The mix surprisingly looks good and feels good on my face. Still, I wish I’d looked harder for Neutrogena Ultra Sheer.

3. Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balm in Fierce
I wanted Kylie Jenner-brown lipstick. I thought this was brown enough, but turned out, it’s deep red on me. It was moisturizing though and long-lasting, which I came to love about it, but when it was put on sale at 50% off a month later, I felt duped.

4. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Toast of New York (from Mom!)
I wanted Kylie Jenner-brown lipstick: Part 2 and Failed Again. This one’s orange-y. (I swear I tried it.) I feel like I just ate Cheetos whenever I see myself in the mirror wearing this. But my lips still look pretty and pouty, so no beef.

5. The Face Shop Brow Master Eyebrow Pencil in 02 Dark Brown.
It was advertised as “sweat-proof” but it isn’t. The rounded tip isn’t good for drawing my brows, and the formula tends to clump — like Ash Wednesday ash clump — after you’d sweated profusely. I miss The Face Shop Designing Eyebrow with its chisel tip and cheaper price tag.

6. The Body Shop Black Musk Eau De Toilette
I LOOOVE THIS. It’s hard to find my type of fragrance (vanilla+musk), so I got a bottle as soon as I sniffed it. Too bad it’s sold at 25% off four days later on Labor Day weekend sale. Worse, my friend said it’s sold at 50% off at a certain mall during the same weekend sale. CREIS

HARD LESSON: Do not buy makeup or perfume unless it’s on sale.

 

Zen

crucial conversations
Photo from librarylostfound.com

Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High Book (2002) by Al Switzler, Joseph Grenny, Kerry Patterson, and Ron McMillan is my “read” and zen resource for April 2016.

Crucial Conversations is a highly recommended, basic negotiation book for everyone who has human relationships to maintain (basically, all of us). The book advises people to notice when a conversation turns crucial, stop themselves from moving to violence or silence in the midst of a crucial conversation, keep their eyes set on their goals when negotiating, and always strive to stay in dialog with others whose ideas oppose theirs. And guess what? These advice aren’t only applicable professionally. They can also be practised in personal relationships, so I really learned a lot from this book.

Incidentally, Crucial Conversations is my first audiobook. I wasn’t really sure how and why audiobooks work because I grew up reading real, physical books. But last year, I started listening to podcasts. I discovered the beauty of consuming information aurally which allowed me to do something else at the same. So naturally, it was easier for me to warm up to audiobooks. I actually listened to the whole Crucial Conversations audiobook while playing Pokémon Diamond. I like to live dangerously.

 

Art in the Park

On April 3, I and gal pal Kristel went to ‘Art in the Park’ at Salcedo Park, Makati where art galleries, artist organizations, and independent artists showcased their works to the public for free. And yes, I prepared a video to effectively communicate our experience in a ~visually appealing~ way.

However, the true highlight of my Art in the Park experience was what happened A F T E R we shot this AVP. So I and my gal pal Kristel were heading out of the venue when I recognized, right there standing by the gate, my Ultimate College Crush whom I hadn’t seen in ~9 years! (He transferred campuses after freshman year.) He looked my way, our eyes locked for a solid three seconds, a hint of recognition lit on his face, and then… I looked away. I pretended I didn’t know him. I’m stupid.

Anyway, that’s behind me now. If he wanted to reconnect, he would have messaged me by now but he didn’t. It was nice seeing him though. He hadn’t changed a bit. Also, it seemed like he was waiting for a girl. And it’s not me. So, yeah. Good riddance. Lol.

Thanks to Viola for Popsicle Summer (Creative Commons license), the upbeat BG music in our video.

 

How about you? How was your April? 🙂

——-

My Favorite Things: A Blog Linkup
Join the monthly My Favorite Things linkup hosted by Raisa and Eirene!

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Things: APRIL 2016

  1. Though I really want go on make-up shopping, I couldn’t because of my skin condition huhu. I really wanna try those creams but my skin would get flaky. I tried buying one but ended up not using it because according to my tita, I made a wrong choice of foundation’s color haha

    I never tried podcasts/audiobook before, im not really sure if I can understand it lol

    Is the Art in park still open?Would love to explore it with my friend someday. You even had a chance to see your crush haha, that was cute XD

    – Jean | http://www.jeaniebeans.ph
    http://jeaniebeans.ph/2016/05/01/life-in-a-bean-april-2016/

    Like

  2. I also bought a lot of skincare products last month! I started the Korean ten-stpe routine, and it really works. 😀 I love Revlon lipsticks. I’ve been looking for my MLBB shade foreverrr.

    Like

  3. OMG! I’ve been using Human Nature Coffee Body Scrub for months now and I’m loving every bit of it! It was only a a saleslady’s suggestion for me when they run out of stocks for St.Ives and I have her to thank for. Best Buy ever!

    Like

  4. I feel you on the Kylie Jenner brown lippie thing. I tried to hunt for the same shade but failed for about more than twice already. hayy haha Good read Mailan! 😀 ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

