My Favorite Things: FEBRUARY 2016

It’s my first time joining a linkup! In the first episode of My Favorite Things, I’m sharing a few things I loved the past month in music, reads, games, events, and the zen life. My Favorite Things is a monthly linkup by by Raisa and Eirene. Join us!

Music

I discovered Ryn Weaver, like how everybody else did, through her viral ‘Octahate,’ which I had been trying to belt out all this time. She released her debut album The Fool (2015) late last year, but I only got wind of it in February, so sucks. The album’s absolutely  B E A U T I F U L  and I could only listen to her songs everyday. Now I’ve been trying to belt out ‘Pierre.’

 

Read

PIN019_febfavorites_01

Elspeth Reeve’s The Secret Lives of Tumblr Teens was this month’s GREAT read. It was LOOONG and it took me three sittings to finish everything to the last word, but I couldn’t NOT finish it. The article brought me back to college years and my young reckless self that spent away the nights until the wee hours endlessly scrolling on Tumblr when clearly I could’ve used my time on something productive e.g. studying.

After having read the article, I exhumed my first email from Tumblr from the deep dark depths of Yahoo Mail and found out that I first signed up on the site on June 28, 2010. I had several other Tumblogs to my name after that, but I deactivated all of them because my younger self is embarrassing and disgusting.

There’s a part of me though that wants to go back to Tumblr. But I think I’m too old for it now??

 

PIN019_febfavorites_02
Photo from astripedarmchair.

This month too, I have started re-reading One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. The first time I’d read it was when I was 17 and almost 10 years has passed since then! I’m re-reading One Hundred Years because I required my World Lit students to read the first few chapters, so I have to review! I have completely forgotten what the details are. I just know I had a wonderful experience with book back then.

Reading One Hundred Years again, I find it remarkable how, when I was 17, I always got stumped by unfamiliar words every 5 seconds. Now, 8 years later, I can read the novel seamlessly with only a few vocabulary hurdles along the way. (I improved!!!)

One Hundred Years is just as captivating and magical as the first time I had read it. I’m falling in love with it again and I think I can’t trust anyone who says he/she doesn’t like One Hundred Years of Solitude.

 

Games

Moe Girl Cafe has been around since December 2013. I only discovered it this month and it’s highly addictive! There’s the cute staff that you can collect, train, and dress up. Mouthwatering pictures of Japanese food and dishes that you have to develop and complete. A mysterious merchant who seldom visits and sells you rare stuff, an evaluation panel that grades your restaurant twice a “year,” and of course the interior design of your restaurant that you want to pour your heart, time, and coins into.

Sometimes I’d stare at my Moe Girl restaurant for a good 15 minutes (although it drains my battery like crazy) and just revel at how everything’s so ganda and kawaii.

 

It’s Pokémon’s 20th anniversary!!!

…And then they announced that they’re releasing the next generation of Pokémons in Pokémon Sun and Pokémon Moon late this year. That’s on top of Pokémon GO which they said they’d release this year too.

Unlike most fans, I didn’t grow up playing Pokémon. I started playing it in my 20s as a “retro game” and mostly because I was curious/envious with people who have played Pokémon (and understand all the Pokémon memes). And then, I’m HOOKED. The news of a new generation excited me and now a part of me wants to buy the 11k-worth Nintendo 3DS and the ~2k Pokémon Sun/Moon game card.

I might settle with a 2DS though coz I’m poor.

 

Zen

I have discovered two great materials on Zen in February. First is this video that suggests a way on how we could better understand our negative emotions…

 

…and second is this story, which I discovered through a friend’s Facebook post, about how we can handle gracefully the negativity that other people throw at us. Here’s an excerpt:

But the Buddha was unruffled by these insults. He remained calm, exuding a feeling of loving-kindness. He politely requested that the man come forward. Then he asked, “Young sir, if you purchased a lovely gift for someone, but that person did not accept the gift, to whom does the gift then belong?”

The odd question took the young man by surprise. “I guess the gift would still be mine because I was the one who bought it.”

“Exactly so,” replied the Buddha. “Now, you have just cursed me and been angry with me. But if I do not accept your curses, if I do not get insulted and angry in return, these curses will fall back upon you—the same as the gift returning to its owner.”

Ganda, ‘no?

 

And of course,

Leo has finally won an Oscar!

REJOICE, INTERNET! REJOICE!!!

 

How about you? How was your February? 🙂

——-

My Favorite Things: A Blog Linkup
Join the monthly My Favorite Things linkup hosted by Raisa and Eirene!

7 thoughts on “My Favorite Things: FEBRUARY 2016

    1. Thank you, Veeyah! I was anxious about posting this because I felt like I was exposing too much about myself and I might come off as too self-absorbed and yep, there’s the anxiety. :’) You should join the linkup too, so we can exchange favorites!

      Like

  1. I don’t think Tumblr is for teens only, because I see some adults who are on Tumblr. Maybe most Tumblr users are teens, that’s why it has an impression that Tumblr is for the young. Hehe.

    Is the Moe Girl Cafe on mobile? I’d love to see and download. It has the feels of Restaurant City and Bakery Story, which I used to play before. Hehe

    I’ll read the story, it seems interesting and I think I need it. There’s so much negative vibes around me lately and I hope it will help me.

    Like

  2. I read that Tumblr article a few wees ago, and I honestly had no idea all that money-making scheming was happening. @_@ I’ve been on Tumblr for years and none of my mutuals talked about it! But I suppose it’s a huge site. My dashboard is usually full of fandom posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

