[S20S] “The Real Mrs. Medina” on Saying No to a Terrible Work Life as No.1 Life Lesson in 20s

Welcome to Something by 20-something! In this blog segment, I interview some fellow yuppies about life after college, career, relationships, and transitioning to this whole adult thing. This segment aims to share real-life stories and insights on “The Real World” by 20-somethings so we, other 20-somethings of the world, can learn #protips on how to wade through #adulting with as much grace and wisdom and courage as possible.

For our first feature story, I interviewed a dear friend who would rather be called “The Real Mrs. Medina.” The interview happened from October 18, 11:18pm to Oct 19, 12:40am on Messenger. #millennial

 

PIN007_mrs_medina2
Grabbed from Nadine Lustre’s IG. (Also, by The Real Mrs. Medina’re request.)

MAILAN
Okay. Thank you, The Real Mrs. Medina for granting me this interview despite your hectic schedule. :))

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
The pleasure is Clark’s lol chos.

MAILAN
HAHAHAHAHA. Your story is the first feature in my new blog segment called “Something by 20-something,” which I have always wanted to do.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Boom pak.

MAILAN
[Bursts out laughing IRL] So first, how do you find life in your 20s?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Unsure, but much more exciting.

MAILAN
Unsure because?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
It has no clear direction. You call the shots this time. No mom or teacher to nag me to do this, accomplish this. All me, and decisions made now will set the tone for the rest of my life. Drama!  CHAR.

MAILAN
TRUDAT. How would you rank your 20s against other stages of your life, say: college, high school, grade school?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
My 20s, no doubt, go to the top of my life stages. I know our childhood has laid the foundation and all that jazz but I never gave too much sentimentality ’bout it because… I simply wasn’t that free and as wise as before! Wailing to get what I want? I practically earned it all with my cold hard cash, baby.

MAILAN
HAHAHAHAHA Yes, babe. Me too.
3. How is life different now from your life when you just graduated?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Oh, man. Life’s still being life, a pain in the ass, but not at all what I pictured after graduation. My ickily idealistic self wanted a totally creative endeavour for employment, and I got something close to that, or not. I noticed that I had better skin, though.

MAILAN
Also, you’re much preppier. :))

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
That I love. Hahaha.

MAILAN
4. In the pre-interview, I asked you what the top 3 life lessons you’ve learnt in your early 20s are. You answered:
1. Learn how to say no.
2. Patience really is key.
3. Dreaming is one thing, but doing something about it is another.
What specific aspect or aspects of your life are you referring to here?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Those all refer to both my professional and ~~romantic/intimate~~ dealings with people. Feels good to be empowered. Char uli!

MAILAN
Seems a “char” is half-meant. [coy smile]

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Fully. Haha.

MAILAN
5. Your number one life lesson is “Learn how to say no.” What’s the story behind this?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
I went through a really horrible employment that felt like I was stuck in a rut for a decade even though it was only 10 months. I won’t disclose what company, but every day was hell for me. I literally dragged myself to work and started each working day with a ranting sesh with a colleague at the pantry just to get it all of. Negativity for breakfast, yo!
After coming to my senses that my earlier professional years need not be this terrible, I said no. No to being convinced that I was the dumbest person in the team, no to being reduced to an errand boy, and no to constantly picking up after someone else’s shit.

[Off the record gossiping about The Real Mrs. Medina’s previous employer]

MAILAN
6. Why do you always say yes before?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
I thought that being a yes man kept me from shunning off opportunities. Well, doesn’t always apply. I’d lay my by-line down on an article whose veracity I even questioned, but my boss wouldn’t even move an inch just to secure my employment. Somebody grab me a tissue now. Haha.

MAILAN
OMG Sorry, Mrs. Medina! I’m sorry for making you sad!

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
It’s not you, it’s them! Hahahahaha.

MAILAN
7. How has your life been since you started saying no to some things?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
It made me feel in control, that I’m not a slave to circumstance. Until now I continue to be distressed by some critical choices, but you just have to build a strong case around your unquestionable gut feel. Hah. And I’m annoyingly positive now. Hahaha.

MAILAN
We love it. We need more people like you in this country.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Outta my way, Jejomar dahlin’! Hahaha.

MAILAN
[Laughing hard IRL] 8. Give us tips on how to say no.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Weigh it if you must, but don’t let it linger. The longer you decide upon it, the harder it is to say no.

MAILAN
Hmm. I’ll reflect on that later.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Looks like Miss Blogger’s got some situaciones of her own. *sticking tongue out emoji*

MAILAN
HAHAHAHAHA. What? I’m also part of the audience? Haha.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Only if you think so! Hahaha.

MAILAN
9. Next, you cite “Patience is the key,” as the second-most important life lesson that you’ve learnt. But the key to what?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Key to Narnia! HAHA. The key to getting what I want. It’s the currency to be able to buy everything else that isn’t covered by Mastercard. Success and happiness (relative) don’t happen overnight, and for us who are living in a ‘instant’ world, there’s no way in hell we can see our goals come true in a snap — instant gratification — like a much-awaited album leaking weeks earlier. Doesn’t work like that.

MAILAN
This is one thing I’m learning too. Like in growing my blog. I can’t be famous right away. HAHA.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Laureen Uy has been there too. You’ll get there HAHAHAHA.

MAILAN
[Thank you!] 11. How can one learn and practice patience?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Experience. You can’t really calculate how much patience you’ll give unless you go through situations that need them. You need to be impatient too, in short. Haha.

MAILAN
Okay, skip question 12 coz you already answered it.
13. And finally, your third top life lesson is: “Dreaming is one thing, but doing something about it is another.” Why do you say so?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
I notice many acquaintances sitting, hoping, wishing (maestro!) for dreams, goals, and other what ifs to come to reality, but rarely do anything to actually get to it. “Law of attraction” isn’t that powerful to bring a contract or a lover to our doorsteps! Haha.

MAILAN
Okay, how can I bring a lover to my doorstep? :))

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
First, you have to step outside! Hahahaha.

MAILAN
Witty! Haha! Also, you got a BIG point.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Big points, BIG things chozzzz.

MAILAN
HAHAHAHAHA THIS IS SO GONNA APPEAR ON MY BLOG.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
HAHAHAHA gow! Mrs Medina approves.

MAILAN
[Getting act together] 14. What if you fail at achieving your dream despite working hard on it? What do you do?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Whenever I fail, I always have plans B to Z in check. As much as we all want to be the next billionaire, we have to be realistic and figure out other ways or detours to get to that destination. It could take years, but at least you tried. Better fail than not try at all. Pak!

MAILAN
PAK NA PAK :))
15. What are you dreaming about now that you’re planning to work on soon?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
None. Hahah! I just want to build a healthy social/non-professional life now. My body’s yearning for it. Studies are my next clear goal, but I’m not really looking into it that much yet. Think of it as my chill phase. Haha.

MAILAN
I see. *smile emoji* Okay. We’re 3/4s through with this interview now. In the following questions, I’d like you to give me short and fast answers. *smile emoji*

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Ooh, the lightning round! Game.

MAILAN
HAHA 16. What career decision you regret the most having made?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Becoming corporate. BAM!

MAILAN
17. If your life had a theme song, what would it be?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
THE CLIMB.

MAILAN
Hahahahaha! I thought you’re gonna say that song by Mariah.
18. If your college self will meet you now, what’s the first thing that your old self will tell you?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
“Wag tanga.” Hahahahahaha.

MAILAN
HAHAHAHAHA WHY???

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Kasi. Things. HAHAHAHHAHAHA lawl.

MAILAN
Okay. Fine. Won’t probe. :))
19. What makes you happy these days?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
My life. CHAROT. My independence. *wink emoji* Sorry, mom.

MAILAN
20. How’s your love life?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
A work in progress. *smile emoji*

MAILAN
Naks. Kwento some other time. HIHI.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
HIHI FOWZ.

MAILAN
21. Any question for me?

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Unli-margarita sometime? HAHAHAHA

MAILAN
YES PLS I’M THIRSTY
for alcohol :)))))))

[Off the record chatting about where to have unli margarita]

MAILAN
So this ends the interview. Thank you, The Real Mrs. Medina. It’s so fun to interview you!

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Thanks Ms. ****** Ay! CHAR HAHAHAHA

MAILAN
MATAGAL NANG WALA YAN. OKAY CUT NA. OFF RECORD.

“THE REAL MRS. MEDINA”
Fun to talk to you too. See you and the girls!!

[Off the record bickering and gossiping about ******]

 

——-

This ends my interview with The Real Mrs. Real.

  1. What are your thoughts on The Real Mrs. Real’s life lessons? Agree/disagree?
  2. Have you had an “terrible employment” experience similar to what The Real Mrs. Real had? What did you do?
  3. Where is the best place in Manila to get affordable but refreshing unli margaritas?
Leave a Reply

