The Making of My Creative Resume

It was the first month into the blogging preps. It was 3am and I was still up, reading how-to-blog articles in bed to lull myself to sleep (a habit of mine). I searched “personal blog as website” and stumbled on The Muse’s The 35 Best Personal Websites We’ve Ever Seen. Unlike the personal/lifestyle blog that I was aiming for, the websites listed in the article are “resume websites.” I checked each and I was oh so amazed by the ~Art~ and copy and strategy that each of these personal websites has. At 3am, I bolted up and my creative juices started flowing. I decided I want a creative resume.

 

creative resume design, creative resume samples, resume design inspiration, creative resume examples 2015, cool resume

 

THEME

My queen peg (inspiration) for theme is The Creative Dork’s resume, which was the first thing that popped in my head when I decided I want a creative resume for myself. I think I discovered The Creative Dork (Robbie Bautista) during my Tumblr phase back in college. What I really admire about TCD’s resume is his use of video game elements like ‘HP,’ ‘MP,’ ‘Statistics’ and ‘Abilities’ to present professional facts about him (and give the employers a piece of his personality). He also paired his “abilities” with illustrated icons that is reminiscent of RPGs’ Skills page design in the early 2000s.

PIN006_creative_resume_01

PIN006_creative_resume_02

 

As a gamer, TCD’s resume connected to me a lot and amused me in ways that only video games can. However, because a resume is still a professional document, I felt like TCD had to tone down on the game allusion in order to keep his resume purposive — which, believe me, is a smart call. Some creative resumes are overly creative (if there’s a thing) that they compromise function and audience awareness which, in turn, really hurt the creatives’ chances of landing a job or winning a project.

But what TCD had to restrain on, I dared to explore and experiment on in my creative resume because (1) it’s my resume, (2) it’s my blog, and (3) I have a separate resume for professional purposes. So, yeah. (But I’m NOOO match with TCD when it comes to designing. I’m a mere peasant compared to his regency.)

 

BACKGROUND IMAGE

If you noticed the pattern in all six images’ backgrounds, you’d know that the six images form a picture of Earth Science! (With a bit of mythology.) Here’s a picture of the background with all the other design elements removed:

PIN006_creative_resume_03

I’d like you to specifically appreciate these wonderful details:

PIN006_creative_resume_03a
The photo reference on the left was the exact position of the stars and constellations on September 3, 2015 from the Philippines’ POV. It’s the day I started working on this detail. Credits to astroviewer.com for the photo on the left. (I purposely omitted some stars because they clash with the logo.)
PIN006_creative_resume_03b
I know my soil layers and I want to be faithful to science. Well, at least I tried. Photo on left from: Colegio San Fernando Social Science Department Google site.

(Yep, this is the wonder/drawback of being “conscientious.” I can’t help it.)

When I was ~ideating~ on the creative resume’s new background, I got fixated on the fact that the images combined actually form a looong piece of document, and then it came to me. My creative resume is like single-page, long-scroll website!

These single-page, long-scroll websites were all the hype in the early 2010s when HTML5 and CSS3 were newly introduced to the web dev world. I was a copywriter back then for a design and web development company and a member of the marketing team (and all-around work, rly). So as part of my job, I “studied” about these trendy single-page (parallax scrolling) websites.

One of my favorite single-page websites had (orange?) child-like drawings on the white background. Pretty minimalist. (Sorry, I couldn’t find the site anymore,) When you visited the site, the first thing you’d see was a drawing of space. When you scrolled down, you’d move towards an atmosphere. If you kept on scrolling down, you would reach Earth, then through the layers of Earth, then you’d see hell, then deeper than hell was Earth’s core (Who would have thought?), then you’d go through layers of Earth again but in reverse order, then finally you’re out on the other side of the planet where everything’s upside down and there’s Godzilla. GENIUS, RIGHT?

(REWARD: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ To anyone who can tell me the whereabouts of this beloved website)

 

DETAILS

To be honest, I did not grow up playing video games. I was more of a books-and-anime kind of kiddo. We had a personal computer but I never really enjoyed playing that thing. I think the first time that I was introduced to a video game that would later have a huge influence in my life was when I was thirteen. It was Ragnarok Online. It was 2003.

I have played a couple of video games after then, mostly “classic,” “generation-defining” video games on emulators because they’re already phased out. These video games were what I drew inspiration from in designing the details of my creative resume.

 

1. “Title” Image

Okay. The “title” image was NOT based on a video game. It was based on Sailor Moon Crystal’s logo. I grew up watching Sailor Moon so its impact on my life is F O R E V E R. And, yes, here it is resonating on my creative resume design.

Originally, the Sailor Moon reference wasn’t included in the design. But with the addition of a space-to-hell background in the new creative resume and the first 640 pixels allotted for the “title” was space, I had to put there an organically fitting element for the “title.” Thus, the moon! (Okay, there are other space-related objects out there. Also, I can’t draw a UFO. So moon!)

 

PIN006_creative_resume_04

mailan falculan, creative resume, blog, personal website

2. Basic Info

If you have ever played Pokémon, you’d know that the upper left box and lower box are from the Summary design! However, in the Pokémon game, that upper left box should be on the right and on the left should be the Pokémon’s photo. (See first photo below.) However, I neither have the skill nor the confidence to put there a 16-bit character version of myself, (Haha!) so after some ~ideating~, I remembered Ragnarok Online and got inspiration from RO’s Basic Info menu design.

 

PIN006_creative_resume_05

+

PIN006_creative_resume_06

=

CV_2_basicinfo

 

3. Statistics

Oh, the Statistics! I got this from Ragnarok. I used the same iconic hexagon thing that you have to tinker on when you’re creating a new character. But instead of the three-letter acronyms, I had to spell each stat out and provide a description to accommodate (and educate) the non-gamers.

PIN006_creative_resume_07

CV_3_stats

 

4. Skills

This was not from Ragnarok too, but I’m not sure though if this is obvious. (Haha!) But I tried, okay. See there the arrows? That’s supposed to indicate that there’s a skill tree going on like in Ragnarok. Also, those boxes should contain each skill’s symbols like in Ragnarok but, yet again, I don’t have the skill to do that. (Hahaha huhu.)

PIN006_creative_resume_08

CV_4_skills

The only thing that I sourced from Pokémon here is the ‘Superpower’ thing which is actually ‘Ability’ in Pokémon. I changed ‘Ability’ to ‘Superpower’ because ‘Ability’ is synonymous to skill, and I don’t want to breed such kind of confusion. Also, I’d read that successful people know what their superpowers are and this lead me to reflecting. I now declare conscientiousness as my superpower!

 

5. Equipment

Yep, Ragnarok. But I had to remove some intricate details because the 640 x 640 space can’t contain all the intricacies of the full-blown Equipment page of Ragnarok. Also, again, my skills! (Huhu I feel so inadequate now writing this post.)

PIN006_creative_resume_09

CV_5_equip

 

6. Reviews

(DISCLAIMER: The wording “Reviews” here doesn’t mean, at the best of my intentions, an objectification of myself. I am merely working within a theme — video games. In various video games, characters jobs and creatures are reviewed or assessed for their abilities and performance.)

CV_6_reviews

Some  personal websites from The Muse’s that I liked had client testimonials on them. So since my creative resume is still a professional endeavor meant to help me get creative gigs, I have to prove to my potential employers that I do a great job and I have a good work ethic.

But as much as I wanted to display client testimonials on my blog, I’ve never had a “direct” client who could’ve given me a testimonial. So what I did was ask some friends who know how I work to write me testimonials.

Kristel S. is a very good friend who I met in college and who has made a lot of mentions on my blog now. Aaron Q. was a student at the uni and now a baby brother figure to me. Tinay O. is my BFF since high school and is the same Tinay who said I needed to hire a designer for my blog. Together, they made me look better than I really am. (Kidding, employers! I’m really great!)

The hell design on this image is a tip-hat to that single-page website that my creative resume’s background was largely based on. Again, REWARD: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ To anyone who can tell me the whereabouts of this beloved website.

 

MOCKUPS and THE BEGINNING OF THIS ALL

Before it looks what it looks like today, the background was originally white so as to save on file size and consequently, loading time.  But when I showed the original design to my good friend Tinay, two days before my blog’s launch to the public, she told me I should hire a designer next time. (Haha!) So I scrapped everything — logo, header, all five images of my creative resume (It was five back then) — and did everything from scratch (and added one more image to the resume). I moved my launch date 11 days later.

PIN006_creative_resume_10

But longer ago than that, days after that 3am epiphany, I drew sketches and mockups on a notepad ~ideating~ on my creative resume’s design. I still have these sketches and they now feel M A G I C A L. Whenever I look at them, I am reminded of the whole work process and the evolution that the design went through — from conception to execution, to the great overhaul, to the “winning” final output that is now displayed on my homepage. These changes are astonishing and feel kinda otherworldly. I’m really happy with my output. I’m happy that I wanted a creative resume for myself.

PIN006_creative_resume_11

Leave a Reply

